ParentPayParentPay Report AbuseReport Abuse

Selby High School

Selby High School

Governors' Awards 2019

On Wednesday, 6th November, 2019, the Governors of Selby High School invited 140 students to Selby High School’s 16th Annual Governors’ Awards for the Academic Year 2018-19.  Over 400 governors, staff, parents and carers, and other guests were present in the magnificent setting of Selby Abbey, to celebrate the achievements of Selby High School students.  

During the evening over 120 awards were presented, reflecting the outstanding achievement and progress of Selby High students. 

Awards were presented during the evening for academic and sporting excellence, service to the community, achievement in adversity, outstanding attitudes to learning and for exceptional educational progress.  Following the school’s best ever exam performance, we also celebrated the achievements of last year’s year 11 cohort.  Jasmine Brown and Daniel Cooper received awards as the highest attaining students in this summer’s GCSEs, and Lucy Forsyth and Dzhenghiz Osman were recognised for having made the most progress.  This year, ten students achieved 100% attendance for the whole five years they attended Selby High School: Mollie Campey, Grace Currey, James Gregory, Lucas Hayes, Miles Loveday, Christopher Nicholson, Louise Raddings, Luke Raddings, Chloe Sampler and Jake Whattam-Smith. 

Mr Burnitt (Director of Key Stage 4) addressed the audience and introduced Isabelle Wilton who won the Selby Civic Society Young Citizen of the Year Award.  Isabelle has raised money for charity, and performed for vulnerable local people, through the gift of her singing; the award was presented by Francis Chapman, Vice Chairman of Selby Civic Society.  Miss Crawford (School SENCO) spoke about the amazing resilience and positive outlook of Mackenzie Barker, the winner of the Achievement in Adversity Trophy.  The trophy was presented by Phillip Stables, former Assistant Principal at Selby High School.

Several of our awards are sponsored by local businesses and organisations - thanks as always to Greencore Groceries, Doosan Babcock, Handelsbanken, Wright Electrical, and Wallworks Photography.  It was a pleasure to welcome Mr Nick Midgley, the Business Performance and Improvement Manager at Doosan Babcock, and Mr Geoff Weeks, Site Director at Greencore, who presented awards in person.

During the evening, there were some brilliant performances by our choir and Selby High School students: Kate Ripley singing ‘Tomorrow’, Isabelle Wilton, ‘Don’t Stop Believing’, Izzy Robey, ‘Shallow’ and Lydia Dawson who sang ‘You are the Reason’. For the closing performance, we welcomed back Kate Hinken with a beautiful rendition of ‘My Heart Will Go On’.

Thank you to Head Boy, Oliver Alterskye and Head Girl, Lauren Smith for another confident, polished presentation.

In his closing remarks, Mr Grant Gibson spoke about the importance of enjoying the special quality of the moment, whilst celebrating achievements of the past, and looking forward to what the future has to offer.  This was a fitting end to what was a superb evening.